S’mores Popcorn Balls

20130823-145948.jpg
I love having kids as an excuse a reason to make fun snacks I probably wouldn’t make just for myself…actually I would make these!

My eldest, Yasmeen, loves s’mores and a good friend of mine gave her a s’mores kit as a gift. Hmmmm probably should’ve taken a picture of that before I dismantled it 😳

I used the graham crackers and chocolate from the kit and used my own marshmallows (halal).

Using 10 cups of air popped popcorn, Yasmeen broke the graham crackers into pieces, and a cup of marshmallows, we tossed it all together in a greased roasting pan. Because we didn’t have mini marshmallows, we tore them into bite size pieces.

The rest of the 250g package of marshmallows went in a pan with a 1/4 cup of butter to melt over a medium-low heat until it was all smooth. Off the heat and in goes 1 tsp of vanilla.

As soon as the vanilla is blended, pour the marshmallow goop over the popcorn mixture and coat with a greased spatula.

At this point I started the double boiler and put the chocolate (2 oz) in to melt while Yasmeen and I shaped the popcorn into balls…about a 1/2 cup for each ball.

We placed the balls on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Once the chocolate was melted, I drizzled the melted chocolate on each ball with a fork. Placing the tray in the fridge for about 10 minutes allowed the chocolate to set before turning the balls and doing the other side.

Wow! These were amazing! Perfect snack for a movie night ☺

20130823-150610.jpg

Until next time, keep it creative!

Leave a Reply

