Rehab Homemade Potato Chips

Rehab?? Yes because you will be totally addicted to these after the first bite!!

20131102-220454.jpg
Now the first time I made these my mandolin got the better of me…well of my pinky finger 😳😁 No worries after my trip to the ER I was assured that it will grow back 😊

Ok so that was a gross way to start off this food blog entry! I promise it gets all golden and crispy after this…the potatoes of course!!

I was making chicken wings and didn’t feel like doing my usual wedges so I thought chips would be the perfect partner to my wings. I was feeding my hubby, teenage girl and the monkeys, so I used 2 russet potatoes scrubbed and unpeeled. Setting the mandolin to 1/4″ I sliced my potatoes…always use the guard people!!!

20131102-215028.jpg
After slicing the potatoes I placed them in a bowl of cold water and heated up about an inch of peanut oil over medium heat. You can use vegetable oil or any other oil with a high smoke point…definitely not olive oil.

Now here comes the part requiring the cheapest brand of paper towel because you will use quite a bit. Laying the slices in a single layer on the paper towel and place another paper towel on top to get all the moisture off…oil and water are not friends!

20131102-215450.jpg
Carefully place the slices in your heated oil but don’t overcrowd the pan. Flip the slice over after about a minute or two. I like to wait until I see the edges curl under slightly and the colour just starts to golden. Fry the other side for about the same time.
20131102-220059.jpg
Remove the chips…see how they are no longer “slices” and have now been promoted to “chips”…and place in a large shallow bowl lined with, you guessed it, paper towel!

I season a little as I place batches in the bowl with some kosher salt.

20131102-220017.jpg
These are so good on their own or with a dip. You could also season with Cajun spice or a mixture of your own favourite to change it up. There wasn’t a chip left after dinner 😊

Until next time…keep it creative!

Leave a Reply

