Burger Cupcakes

Where’s the beef?? Well there’s no beef in these burgers just delicious cupcakes! Ok the fries in the pic are actually fries but when I do these cupcakes again I am totally making sugar cookie fries πŸ™ƒ

The “buns” are vanilla cupcakes. I use a standard muffin tin for my cupcakes so they’re not overly big. These burger cupcakes are quite tall once assembled so unless you’re making them for someone who is an absolute cupcake fiend, standard size is just perfect πŸ‘ŒπŸ½I try and horizontally slice the cupcakes so the top and bottom are the same height but sometimes I have to trim a little extra off the bottom one to even them out and sometimes I trim just so I can eat some 😳


I brush a little water on the top “bun” with a pastry brush and sprinkle some sesame seeds. I think you can get candied sunflower seeds at a specialty store but really I don’t have time for specialty sunflower seed shopping πŸ˜’

For the burger, I slice my chocolate cupcakes into thirds. I trim the top third to eat, wait what? I mean to make it flat 😐

With the condiments I play around with different ways to create them. The ketchup and mustard are red and yellow  buttercream frosting. I frost the bottom bun with “ketchup” and then place the “burger” on top, and then frost the burger with “mustard”. I make sure both the ketchup and mustard ooze out so it’s visible. 


The lettuce I make two different types. One uses green buttercream frosting which is piped on the outer edge of the bottom bun.

The other lettuce is made from shredded coconut coloured with green food colouring, and sprinkled on the “mustard”buttercream making sure some is peeking out. 

These cupcakes are the perfect dessert at a BBQ or even game night. Speaking of BBQ, stay tuned for my next post on my BBQ grill cupcakes!

Until next time…keep it creative!

Leave a Reply

