Chocolate Easter Bark

What is better than chocolate? Uhhh chocolate with more chocolate and candy in it that’s what! Actually you can even add pretzels or nuts or take walk on the wild side and add dried cranberries…mmmm cranberries and chocolate πŸ˜‹

This bark is so fun and versatile you can make for any holiday or occasion.  Just change up the colours of your additions to suit your theme πŸ‘πŸΌ I used a post on Sally’s Baking Addiction as my guideline and my inspiration. 

I used both white and regular (semi-sweet)chocolate. I’m not a white chocolate fan but when it’s mixed with regular chocolate I can get into it. 

You can decide which layer you want which type of chocolate. I like the white chocolate on top because it’s a great background for the candies and makes the coulours of them really pop 😊

Prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper or silicone mat. Melt the the semi-sweet chocolate either in the microwave or using a double boiler. If you’re using the microwave I would use 50% power and intervals of 30 seconds for stirring until it’s fully melted. Pour the melted chocolate on your prepared baking sheet and spread out the chocolate with an offset spatula. Don’t fuss with getting a perfect rectangle because the will be broken up after anyways πŸ€— make sure not to spread it too thin maybe about 1/16″ thick. 


Place the baking sheet in the fridge to set the chocolate. Very important the chocolate sets before you put on the next layer of chocolate or you’ll end up with the two mixing…which actually could make a cool marble effect if that’s what your going! 

Once your first layer is set, melt the white chocolate the same way. Pour the white melted chocolate over the semi-sweet chocolate layer and spread it out to the edge of the first layer. 


At this point you can sprinkle your funness! Smarties, mini eggs, non-pareils, confetti etc. I crushed (well actually smashed them in a baggie with my rolling pin 😬) my mini eggs as they seemed a little big and it gave a more contrasting look. 


Place the tray in the fridge to completely set and in about 30 minutes, you can take them out and break them into whatever size pieces you like. I keep my uneaten pieces…wait I don’t have any uneaten pieces 😳 well if you do, keep them in a airtight container in the fridge πŸ€—

Until next time…keep it creative!

Leave a Reply

